Founder Profile: Chantee Butler

A look at Nayko Naturals

WAFFA
3 min readAug 31, 2021
Chantee Bulter, Founder of Nayko Naturals

Tell us a bit about your company

Nayko Naturals creates natural, handcrafted, preservative-free skincare products that get back to the basics. Our brand mission and beliefs are simple- integrity, clean beauty, handcrafted, and back to the basics.

What inspired you to start your business/ what opportunity in the market are you seeking to address?

I am a health and wellness advocate and care deeply about all-natural products and holistic wellness. I searched for YEARS, looking for a skin moisturizer that did not have a laundry list of ingredients. Oftentimes, companies would brand their product as “all-natural” or “shea butter body butter”, and I would be tricked into buying it. When I got home and peeled back the label to inspect the ingredients, there were a slew of ingredients that I could not pronounce — many of which were toxic and unsafe. Personally, I live by the motto if you can’t find it, create it. So I did just that. I have spent the past 4 years testing, obtaining feedback, and iterating my proprietary formulas to create the best product possible. Most of my product feedback and iteration took place during my time in business school at The Wharton School.

What are one or two of the biggest wins or most encouraging experiences you’ve had so far?

My most encouraging experience to date has been winning a pitch competition with Black Girl Ventures shortly after launching Nayko Naturals. I competed with 7 other entrepreneurs from Philadelphia to raise funds for our venture, and won first place! That experience taught me the power of my network, especially my Wharton network, and the belief that others have in me and my business. I am also grateful for the network that I was able to cultivate through the Black Girl Ventures experience.

Photo Credit: Nayko Naturals

What is an obstacle you anticipate grappling with as you continue to build this venture?

As I continue to build my venture, an obstacle that I am anticipating is reaching scale while remaining true to the core of the business. At Nayko Naturals, we believe in self-care, and that our products enable consumers to take the worry out of product purchasing. There is comfort in knowing that you are using clean, all-natural products that are safe for your entire family. Regardless of how global we become, we are committed to staying true to this mission and refuse to compromise.

Anything else you want to mention?

Women are disproportionately affected by this issue, as they are the main consumable product purchaser in the majority of homes in America. Health and wellness is a growing trend, and women care deeply about the ingredients they’re using on their skin and putting into their body. We refuse to add another item to the ‘pink tax’ that women face, so we are committed to ensuring that our prices are fair.

How can the WAFFA community help you?

I would love the WAFFA community’s support in following us on Instagram, sharing the business with your network, and/or purchasing a product!

Follow Nayko Naturals or Connect with Chantee for updates on Nayko Naturals’ progress.

--

--

WAFFA

Wharton Alumnae Founders & Funders Association (WAFFA) accelerates the success of women in the startup ecosystem. Join us: HelloWaffa.org